I’m Seamus (pronounced Shaymus, people get it wrong ALL the time). I work as a relief teacher living in rural Victoria, Australia. I have an 2 and a half year old son, my new daughter (seven months old at time of writing) and live with my wife, two cats and four chickens. I want a goat. My wife says no.

Up until two years ago we were very much city slickers, I was born and bred in Melbourne Australia. Last year a job came up for me teaching in a town called Maryborough. We moved to a nearby town called Castlemaine, and it looks like we are now committed to staying in this region for at least theĀ foreseeableĀ future.

I don’t know how to parent or be a father. So far I have made it up as I bumbled along and I seem to have survived. So has The Lad (my son) and The Lass (my daughter), so I’ve got some fundamentals right it would seem. I do know that I love them both and that I love being their dad. Hopefully that’s a couple of steps in the right direction.

We also have 2 cats, four chickens a peach tree and an olive tree. We hope to get more of all these things one day with dreams of a fruit orchard, veggie patches and a degree of self-sufficiency you don’t get in the city.

We also try to treat the earth right. We are into solar power, composting, recycling, cloth nappies and energy saving everything.

I am a geek of many varieties. I’m an ancient history geek, with a background in Latin and Ancient Greek. Those subjects got me far in the world, let me tell you… I am also a Star Trek tragic, what can I say? I have a man-crush on Patrick Stewart. I am a bit of a science geek, but I blame that on my friends at Science On Top (excellent podcast by the way). I am also a theatre geek (a high school drama teacher, so it goes with the territory) and by extension a Shakespeare geek. I hope to infuse all my spawn with geekiness of their own.